I gotta have my orange juice.

Jesu, Juva


leave a comment »

Chapter summaries in Deuteronomy.

Deuteronomy 1 – Moses explains the law to Israel before they enter Canaan. He recalls his appointing leaders and Israel’s former rebellion at entering the land.
Deuteronomy 2 – Moses recalls Israel’s wandering in the wilderness and Israel’s defeat of Heshbon.
Deuteronomy 3 – Moses recalls Israel’s defeat of Bashan; Reuben, Gad, and half of Manasseh’s possessing the land; and Moses’ being forbidden to enter the land.
Deuteronomy 4 – Moses charges Israel to obey God’s law, warns against idolatry, proclaims God’s greatness, and establishes three cities of refuge east of the Jordan.
Deuteronomy 5 – Moses repeats the ten commandments, and urges Israel to remain faithful to God.
Deuteronomy 6 – Moses commands Israel to love God, keep his commands and teach their children God’s commands; he urges Israel not to forget or to test the LORD, and again to teach their children to fear and obey the LORD.
Deuteronomy 7 – God commands Israel to utterly destroy the Canaanites, reminding Israel that they are set apart to the LORD, that God loves Israel and that his power will go before them.
Deuteronomy 8 – Moses again urges Israel to remain faithful to God, reminding them of God’s incredible goodness to them, and warning that they will perish otherwise.
Deuteronomy 9 – Moses warns Israel to take no pride in their victories, for God’s favor is not at all upon them for their righteousness; on the contrary, he reminds them of their many sins.
Deuteronomy 10 – Moses recounts God’s sparing Israel after the golden calf; he reminds Israel of God’s greatness, his goodness to them, and instructs them to fear, obey, love and serve the LORD, and also to circumcise their hearts.
Deuteronomy 11 – Moses urges Israel to love and obey God and to teach their children continually; he reminds them of the destruction of Pharaoh and entices them with rich promises and severe warnings concerning the fruitfulness of the land.
Deuteronomy 12 – Israel is to destroy all Canaanite places of worship, not seek after Canaanite gods, and bring worship and offerings to God in only one place; they may eat meat but not blood anywhere; they may not alter God’s commands in any way.
Deuteronomy 13 – Death is commanded for all who go after other gods, even to whole cities.
Deuteronomy 14 – Laws concerning clean and unclean food; tithes are commanded.
Deuteronomy 15 – The establishment of the seventh year, the year of release; firstborn livestock are to be dedicated to the LORD.
Deuteronomy 16 – Israel is to celebrate Passover, the feast of weeks, and the feast of booths; bribery and idolatry are forbidden.
Deuteronomy 17 – Death by stoning for doing what is evil; judges and priests are to adjudicate matters of the law; Israels kings are to remain humble and faithful to the LORD and his law.
Deuteronomy 18 – Provision for the Levites through tithes; laws against child sacrifice and divination; God will send prophets, but false prophets are to be put to death.
Deuteronomy 19 – Laws concerning the cities of refuge, property boundaries, and witnesses.
Deuteronomy 20 – Laws concerning war — the victory is God’s, sending men home, offering terms of peace, devotion to destruction, and care for trees.
Deuteronomy 21 – Laws concerning unsolved murders, female captives, inheritance, rebellious children, and hanging on a tree.
Deuteronomy 22 – Laws concerning fellow Israelites’ property, separation, and marriage.
Deuteronomy 23 – Laws concerning acceptance into the assembly, excrement, prostitution, interest, vows, and produce.
Deuteronomy 24 – Laws concerning marriage; miscellaneous laws ensuring justice.
Deuteronomy 25 – Laws concerning justice.
Deuteronomy 26 – A tithe is commanded after entering the land to recount God’s deliverance; summing up of Israel’s responsibility as God’s possession.
Deuteronomy 27 – An altar is to be built on entering the land; curses are also to be proclaimed and affirmed.
Deuteronomy 28 – Numerous blessings and curses are pronounced.
Deuteronomy 29 – Moses recounts God’s power, judgments and deliverance, warning Israel not to disobey lest God judge them.
Deuteronomy 30 – If Israel rebels but then repents, God will restore them. God’s commandment is not out of reach, but life and death are in it.
Deuteronomy 31 – Moses charges Joshua and Israel; God charges Israel.
Deuteronomy 32 – Moses sings of God’s greatness, faithfulness, judgment and compassion, in spite of Israel’s sin. God orders Moses to Mt. Nebo.
Deuteronomy 33 – Moses blesses Israel and praises God.
Deuteronomy 34 – Moses sees the land from Nebo, dies, and is buried by God. Joshua takes command.

Written by Scott Moonen

November 24, 2007 at 7:19 am

Posted in Bible Chapter Summaries

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: